Announcing the 2024 Electric Ireland Camogie Third Level Championship Team of The Year


Electric Ireland is thrilled to spotlight 15 exceptional players from this season’s Camogie Third Level Championships, as it unveils the 2024 Electric Ireland Camogie Third Level Rising Stars Team of the Year. Electric Ireland is delighted to continue its partnership with the Camogie Association for the second season, which sees Electric Ireland support the game across grassroots, Higher Education and Intercounty levels.

In a season filled with stand-out team and individual performances, University of Limerick were crowned Ashbourne Cup winners for the 11th time in their history, with an emphatic win over last year’s winners TU Dublin at the University of Galway Connacht GAA Air Dome. The Limerick university saw out their last performance of the season in confident fashion which was reflected in the final scoreline of 6-11 to 1-12.

In this year’s Electric Ireland Camogie Third Level Rising Stars 2024 Team of the Year, champions UL are well represented with eight players included, while beaten finalists TU Dublin have three representatives on the team. Beaten semi-finalists, DCU and UCC each have two players who feature.

This year’s Electric Ireland Camogie Third Level Rising Star Player of the Year is UL’s Casey Hennessy. Casey had a fantastic year proving a nightmare for defenders throughout the tournament and finished off her campaign in style with a goal in the Ashbourne Cup final to seal the victory for UL.

2024 Electric Ireland Camogie Third Level Rising Stars Team of the Year

  1. Sinead Farrell – UL, St Lachtain’s, Kilkenny
  2. Eimear Loughman – UL, Clonoulty Rossmore, Tipperary
  3. Claire Kingston – UL, Newcestown, Cork
  4. Sharon Shanahan – UL, Shinrone, Offaly
  5. Orla Sinnott – TUD, Ferns St Aidan’s, Wexford
  6. Aine Keane – UL, St. Thomas’, Galway
  7. Aoife Healy – UCC, Aghada, Cork
  8. Ciara O’Connor – DCU, St Martin’s, Wexford
  9. Eimear Heffernan – UCC, Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams, Tipperary
  10. Kerrie Finnegan – TUD, Faughs, Dublin
  11. Róisín McCormick – TUD, Loughgiel Shamrocks, Antrim
  12. Mairead O’Brien – UL, Modeligo, Waterford
  13. Casey Hennessy – UL, Clonoulty Rossmore, Tipperary
  14. Eimear McGrath – UL, Drom & Inch, Tipperary
  15. Aisling Gannon – DCU, St Jude’s, Dublin

Uachtarán an Cumann Camógaíochta, Hilda Breslin, said: “I would like to congratulate each of the players and their third level institutions on their achievements throughout this season’s Championship and for being named on the Camogie Team of the Year. Each year this competition excels, as do the players, displaying their incredible skill and determination throughout the Championship. We are immensely proud to have such strong representatives for the sport. Congratulations to each and every one of you.”

Sarah Sharkey, Group Sponsorship & PR Manager, Electric Ireland, commented: “We are delighted to announce the 2024 Electric Ireland Camogie Third Level Rising Stars Team of the Year. It has been wonderful to be able to support these players, whose performances throughout the season have been incredibly exciting to watch. We would like to extend our congratulations to all players recognised, along with their third level institutions.”

The Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Hurling and Football Teams of the Year will be announced on March 19th and March 28th respectively.  These awards will acknowledge 15 outstanding performances from this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup and Sigerson Cup Championships.


Follow Electric Ireland on social media: Twitter: @electricireland Facebook: @ Electric Ireland Instagram: @electricireland