As title sponsors of the GAA Minor Football & Hurling Championships we are delighted to reveal the Minor Hurling Team of the Year for 2018.

Darragh Maher - Kilkenny - Hurling-min

The Hurling Team of the Year will be recognised at the second annual Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards, to be held in Croke Park on September 29th. The culmination of the ‘This is Major’ campaign, the Minor Star Awards is a major moment for the Minor players, highlighting the success they achieved throughout the Championship. The Minor Star Awards will celebrate the talent of the players, as well as the dedication of the clubs, families, and communities that have supported them along the way.

The 2018 Hurling Team of the Year was carefully selected by our legendary GAA panellists, including All-Ireland winning Kilkenny Hurler, Michael Fennelly and All-Star winning former Galway Hurler, Ollie Canning.

Throughout the Championship, a ‘Player of the Week’ initiative was hosted on Facebook where nominated players joined a shortlist of names, along with man of the match winners, from which the judges made their selections for Team of the Year. The panel will also choose an overall Hurler of the Year, which will be announced at the Minor Star Awards.

 Cathal O'Neill (Limerick)-min  

The Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year features four players from this year’s All-Ireland champions, Kerry, as well as two players from this year’s finalists, Galway. With players from Kildare, Monaghan, Derry, Dublin and Meath also making the selection.

FINAL Hurling Team of The Year 2018 635

Michael Fennelly, Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards Judge commented: “I’m delighted to have been a part of the panel and help select the skilled players who make up this year’s Hurling Team of the Year. Honouring players at this level is so important as it may be the only time that they pull on a County jersey so it’s great to be able to mark that occasion for them. These players have performed exceptionally throughout the season, giving it their all at every match. Their talent is a testament to the families and communities that have supported them on their journey, and they’ve earned their place on the Team of the Year.”

The 2018 Minor Star Awards Football Team of the Year was announced last week. Visit Electric Ireland’s blog to find out player names and details, here.

Electric Ireland’s ‘This is Major’ initiative is designed to empower young players and in 2018, the campaign looked to highlight Major Moments in Minor players playing careers. Check out Electric Ireland’s Major Moments video content, featuring the panel of GAA Legends discussing their own major moments at Minor level as well as creative content highlighting the importance of the pre-game ritual by visiting our YouTube Channel.

Follow the awards Minor Star Awards on September the 29th and be a part of the conversation on social using the hashtag, #GAAThisIsMajor or visit @ElectricIreland on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.