Announcing the 2020 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Team of the Year

Galway’s Liam Collins named Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Player of the Year  

Electric Ireland is pleased to spotlight 15 standout performers from the 2020 Minor Hurling season, today unveiling the 2020 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Team of the Year and the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Player of the Year.  The 2020 Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Championship was a season like no other due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Despite all the delays and uncertainty over the Minor Championships, Electric Ireland remained committed to celebrating the return of major moments back into these young player’s lives.  

This year’s Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year features six players from All-Ireland champions Galway, All-Ireland finalists, Kilkenny and Munster champions, Limerick both have 3 players represented. While Offaly, Tipperary and Westmeath each have one representative on this year’s team.   

Liam Collins, a member of the Galway Minor Hurling team has been named as the 2020 Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Player of the Year. The Cappataggle forward was outstanding in the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Championship, picking up the Man of the Match award in the Final after scoring 1-7 against a brilliant Kilkenny side, bringing his tally for the year to 3-14. 

The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts and was determined in part by Electric Ireland’s ‘Player of the Week’ initiative on Twitter.  

EI-Hurling-TeamoftheYear-1080 (2)

2020 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Team of the Year 

1. Tomás Lynch (Limerick & Doon) 

2. Zach Bay Hammond (Kilkenny & Thomastown) 

3. Adam Nolan (Galway & Kilnadeema Leitrim) 

4. Michael Walsh (Galway & Ardrahan) 

5. Joe Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny & Dunnamaggin) 

6. Tiernan Killeen (Galway & Loughrea) 

7. Luke Shanahan (Tipperary & Upperchurch Drombane) 

8. Liam Leen (Galway & Clarinbridge) 

9. Eamonn Cunneen (Westmeath & Raharney) 

10. Lochlann Quinn (Offaly & Birr) 

11. Adam English (Limerick & Doon) 

12.Billy Drennan (Kilkenny & Galmoy) 

13. Shane O’Brien (Limerick & Kilmallock) 

14. Liam Collins (Galway & Cappataggle) 

15. Colm Molloy (Galway & Kilnadeema Leitrim) 

During the 2020 Minor Championships, Electric Ireland also spotlighted Minor players who stepped up and made life-changing contributions to our society. These individuals were recognised through the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Special Recognition awards, celebrating their major contribution off-the-pitch.  

Keep an eye on our social media channels for more action and be a part of the conversation using the hashtag #GAAThisIsMajor.  
Facebook: @Electric Ireland Instagram: @electricireland Twitter: @electricireland  
LinkedIn: @ElectricIreland