Announcing the GAA Rising Stars 2020 Football Team of the Year


As announced earlier this week, due to the on-going Covid-19 pandemic, together with the GAA Higher Education Committee we have cancelled the 2020 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Awards Ceremony and will not bring players, coaches and their families together to celebrate this achievement.  However, despite the current climate, both organisations are committed to recognising the most consistent performers from this year’s competitions.

The Hurling Team of the Year along with the Player of The Year were unveiled yesterday 1st April and today, as proud sponsors of the GAA Higher Education Leagues and Championships, we are thrilled to announce David Garland as the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Football Player of the Year. The DCU DÉ forward is also joined by five of his teammates on the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Football Team of the Year.

Garland was outstanding throughout DCU DÉ’s journey to Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup glory in 2020. The Donaghmoyne forward scored a total of 1-14 across all games, finishing off with four magnificent points from play and a man of the match performance as he led DCU DÉ to victory in this year’s final over IT Carlow. Garland’s efforts in the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup have resulted in him being recalled to the Monaghan Senior Intercounty panel for 2020. 
Sigurdsson Cup team of the year

The country’s top footballing talent was on display during this year’s Higher Education Football season with DCU DÉ claiming their fifth Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup crown while Cork Institute of Technology gained promotion from the Electric Ireland Trench Cup following their victory in the final over Mary Immaculate College.

In this year’s Football Team of the Year, Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Champions, DCU DÉ lead the way with six Rising Stars while beaten finalists IT Carlow have four representatives on the team. Letterkenny Institute of Technology, who reached the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Semi-Final for the first time, and UCD have two representatives each. There is also one representative from Electric Ireland Trench Cup Champions, CIT.    

Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars 2020 Football Team of the Year

  1. Evan Comerford - DCU DÉ, Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin
  2. Brendan McCole - DCU DÉ, Naomh Naille, Donegal
  3. Mike Breen - UCD, Beaufort, Kerry
  4. Niall Hughes - IT Carlow, Kilanerin - Ballyfad, Wexford
  5. Ray Connellan - UCD, Athlone, Westmeath
  6. Jordan Morrissey - DCU DÉ, Éire Óg, Carlow
  7. Trevor Collins - IT Carlow, Graiguecullen, Laois
  8. Shane Carthy - DCU DÉ, Naomh Mearnóg, Dublin
  9. Michael Langan - LYIT, Naomh Mícheál, Donegal
  10. Padraig O’Toole - IT Carlow, Kiltegan, Wicklow
  11. Mícheál Bannigan - DCU DÉ, Aughnamullen, Monaghan
  12. Peadar Morgan - LYIT, Naomh Naille, Donegal
  13. David Garland - DCU DÉ, Donaghmoyne Fotenoys, Monaghan
  14. Gavin O’Brien - CIT, Kerins O’Rahillys, Kerry
  15. Cian Farrell - IT Carlow, Edenderry, Offaly